Headlight wiring

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Headlight wiring

Hi all, I'm hoping somebody can help with a wiring problem I have.

I'm in the process of restoring/customising a '91 Yamaha XT225. It had stood in a field for 12 years or so and needed plenty of work. It now runs so I'm definitely on the final stretch thankfully....started first time too....really pleased as I've never done this kind of thing before.

So, my dilemma. The bike was originally wired to have the side light and taillight on all the time with the indicators also lit as running lights. I've removed the indicators, dummy lights from the dashboard area and all safety relays.....mainly as they were broken and don't want to spend a fortune replacing them....Haha.
    I now have a simple horn switch and an identical starter switch on the bars. The key ignition is my way of killing the bike.
    My intention is to have one more switch in the middle of the bars, this would activate the tail light, speedo backlight and headlight. The headlight will only have a dipped beam as I won't be doing any night riding on green lanes but would like to be visible on the roads.

I've already gone into the loom and ran a wire from the tail light to the front of the bike, I'm just not sure how to wire up the headlight and speedo, What type of switch to use, etc.

​​​After looking at some of the bikes on here, I'm hoping someone will be able to help.

thanks in advance,

Michael.

​​​​​​
    ​​​​​
    ​​​

Hi Xug,
    First you will need to locate the live wire for the lights in your bikes loom. This will run from the loom to the switch on your handlebars and will be a single wire.( i will talk about the switch in a mo ). so you now have the "lights" wire running to your switch somewhere on your handlebars, from this switch you can simply run 3 wires out of the switch ( 1. to the headlight - 2. to the speedo light - 3. to the tail light. ) .