Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Noob Build cg125 - any and all advice gratefully accepted!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noob Build cg125 - any and all advice gratefully accepted!

Hi Everyone!

I'm a long time lurker on here, and thought it was time to upload a little thread of my slapstick attempts at a cg125 (again, i know) cafe/brat/thing that I am making literally in my shed in finsbury park, london. It's my first motorbike and im aiming to start my bike ownership career on what i hope will be a lovely little custom jobbie

A bit about the bike: original bike is a 1996 CG BR-k (Brazil) which i purchased off ebay for the princely sum of £318 this april as a birthday present to myself. It's definitely seen better days and has accumulated a LOT of rust, muck and god knows what else as it was ragged about a field for many years by a very friendly biking family out in essex.

A bit about me: I'm an animator and illustrator by trade (i know) but i like to build stuff and tinker. However this is my first attempt at anything mechanical, I dont even have a cbt at this stage haha but not to worry the bike isnt really doing much of anything yet so once i get it running nice im going to get all that sorted out. I am also (like a lot of folks ive noticed on here) a really cheap bastard, so im doing this all with second hand tools, and bits off ebay, making as much as i can myself in the old shed in the garden. So without further ado, here's a few pictures of the bike, and where its at right now:

Original bike:

IMG_20170503_163647.jpg

Here it is a little later with me having chopped the exhaust and fitted a new muffler with my £42 clarke mig i bought off ebay

IMG_20170909_153101.jpg

few process shots of that, the header pipe was way smaller so welded it up a bit with scrap to make it a little wider for the muffler, and fitted a cone filter also:

IMG_20170909_142720.jpg

IMG_20170909_144439.jpg

IMG_20170909_153101.jpg