No announcement yet.

First build - Which would you go for?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First build - Which would you go for?

Hi Guys,

Currently on the lookout for my first project bike. A bit of background. I've been out of bikes for a long time. My previous bike was an '03 CBR600F. I have zero mechanical experience other than fitting mini-indicators to the CBR so looking for something not too complex mechanically but I do want to learn beyond just the basics. I'm not looking to strip and rebuild an engine but want to be able to remove from the frame, clean carbs etc. My aim is to build a cafe racer. I like the look of the CB's but there doesn't seem to be many about that are in my price range. I'll probs only have £1k, maybe a little more for the initial purchase of the bike itself. For that hopefully I can find a runner or a bike that wouldn't take too much work to get running. Cosmetically I'm not too concerned about as I want something to strip down clean up and paint. I currently have my eye on the following:-

1976 CB200 - seems cheap. Seller says the bike was a runner when it was put into storage. Turns over with compression, engine not seized but has stood unused since 2002
    1976 Z400 - £800. US import Nova but unregistered. Supposed under 23k miles. No ignition switch but advised turns over on kickstarter and fired using carb cleaner
    1979 CB750K again US import. Engine described as firing on carb cleaner. Think this one will go over my price range anyway

I'm keeping my eye out for others similar. Any other bikes you would recommend as a starter. Not really interested in CG125's which I know many start on. I want something which will hold my interest

Any other tips much appreciated